Character Death Options: Don’t Hate on Reincarnate

So my character died today.  For those of you who didn’t know, I was playing a 5th level Human Sorcerer.  I was slain by a minotaur who was teetering on the edge of death.  I had previously weakened him with some acid arrows but as I stepped forward to lay the final death blow with my staff, I botched the attack roll essentially rolling a 1.

In our campaign, if this happens, then you screw up big time.  In my particular case, I end up dropping my staff.  He immediately attacks me on his next turn and kills me and disables my companion, Hydesworth Gul.

Although the party as a whole defeated this beast, the questions of what to do with my dead character arose.  It is the most frustrating thing as a player to listen to them rationalize resurrection, raise dead and reincarnate options.

Being low on cash, but also because my character had been weak from the beginning, the party opted to reincarnate me.  At first, I was pissed but after applying the level loss plus the new abilities, I realized that this could just be a good thing.

Let’s look at my stats before and after and see how dying actually benefited me:

Dextrion Stormlight 5th Level Human Sorcerer

HP: 26

Init: +3

AC: 16

Attack: 1d6 (dark wood staff) or 1d4+1 (+1 keen dagger)

Saves: Fort +3, Ref +4, Will +4

Abilities: Str 10, Dex 16, Con 14, Int 15, Wis 11, Cha 18

Skills: Bluff +8, Climb +1, Concentration +6, Craft___+6, Craft ___+6, Diplomacy +6, Gather Information +6, Knowledge (Arcana)_ +6, Profession +2, Spellcraft +7

Feats: Dodge, Improved Counterspell, Craft Magic Arms & Armor

larlum's sorcererDex 4th level Half Ogre Sorcerer

HP: 26

Init: +3

AC: 15

Attack: 1d8+2 (mwk morning star), 1d6+2 (dark wood staff) or 1d4+3 (+1 keen dagger)

Saves: Fort +4, Ref +3, Will +4

Abilities: Str 14, Dex 14, Con 16, Int 13, Wis 11, Cha 16

Skills: Bluff +7, Climb +3, Concentration +7, Craft___+5, Craft ___+5, Diplomacy +5, Gather Information +5, Knowledge (Arcana)_ +5, Profession +2, Spellcraft +6

Feats: Dodge, Improved Counterspell, Craft Magic Arms & Armor

So the numbers in red represent where I lost points and the numbers in green indicate where I gained points.  Also, I lost a point of Armor Class due to losing a point of Dexterity and although I gain a natural armor bonus of 1, my bracers of armor were taken to fund my death expenses.  Still when it comes to melee, I am deadlier.  I can make better spell combos such as casting True Strike on my half ogre self and inflicting as much as 20 points of damage with a morning star as opposed to inflicting 12 points with a staff.  I can cast my famous Color Spray spell and step forward and capitalize with a melee strike in the next round.

My D4 hit dice that I roll every time I level up is increased by 3 points due to my higher Constitution.  And speaking of leveling up, I actually have a level adjustment of +1.  That is how badass a half-ogre is.

Now to be quite honest, it sucks losing an ability point in Charisma when you are a sorcerer.  This equates to a bonus 4th level spell and having one less 2nd level spell to cast.  I will not be able to regain those lost ability points in in Charisma until I attain 12th level (provided that I spend that ability point on Charisma at 8th then 12th).

In the end, dying and being reincarnated turned me from a sorcerer with a high DC spells but relatively weak in melee, to a strong melee sorcerer with relatively weaker spells.  I guess I just have to started crafting myself some magic arms.  We will see how this plays out.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Character Death Options: Don’t Hate on Reincarnate”

  1. White Label TeeSpring Review says :

    Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this amazing
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to
    read through more, thanks for the information!

Leave a Reply

the pARTy planning

The Art in Party Planning

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

The Kraken's Wake

Kick up your feet at the Kraken's Wake. Enjoy Ale and Tales of Penn in Delphia

Jot Jot Iota

Thoughts and ramblings on my assorted geekeries

Red Website Design Blog

Helping You & Your Business Grow

Boccob's Blessed Blog

A gaming blog with an emphasis on D&D 5e

holowriting.wordpress.com/

The sci-fi, fantasy, gaming, reading, writing blog of Jacob and H.P. Holo

